Some Websites and Blogs on Open Theism

This is a revised version of my November 10, 2012, “Some Websites and Blogs on Open Theism” post.

In my first post, “An Introduction to Open Theism,” I recommended these websites on open theism, the first two supporting and the third opposing open theism:
Open View Information Site
ReKnew – Open Theism
The Christian Apologetics and Research Ministry – Open Theism
In this post I’ll describe them, give links to other websites and blogs about or with significant material on open theism, and give links to websites for discussing open theism.

Open Theism Information Site

As its name indicates, Open Theism Information Site contains information about open theism. It has these sections: Home, Information, Publications, Questions, Opposition, and Contact. Home features a definition and summary of open theism by John Sanders, author of The God Who Risks. Information explores various sources of information about open theism; its Articles subsection provides articles on open theism by John Sanders, Gregory Boyd, William Hasker, Clark Pinnock, and other scholars and an enlightening debate about open theism between John Sanders and Christopher A. Hall, “Does God know Your Next Move?” Publications lists several books on open theism and related topics by various authors. Questions contains answers to various questions submitted by visitors to the site. Opposition contains a few items opposing open theism.

ReKnew – Open Theism

ReKnew is the website of Gregory Boyd, the author of God of the Possible. Its Resources / Essays / Open Theism section contains several items, one of which I especially recommend to anyone wanting to know what open theism is, “A Brief Outline and Defense of the Open View.” The other items are more advanced.

CARM – Open Theism

Open Theism at Matt Slick’s The Christian Apologetics and Research Ministry (CARM) contains material opposing open theism. It has four sections: Introduction, describing open theism; Issues and Answers, criticising open theism; Scriptures Examined, explaining Bible passages cited by open theists as evidence that God learns; and “A Dialogue with an Open Theist.”

Other Websites and Blogs about or with Significant Material on Open Theism

Library of Theology – Open Theism and Revival Theology Resources – Omniscience and Openness provide numerous articles and longer works on open theism by various writers of the past and the present. Their content is similar, but each contains some items not on the other. In particular, Library of Theology – Open Theism includes several articles by Jesse Morrell of Open Air Outreach.

The orthodox Open Theist is the personal blog of the administrator of Facebook’s Open View Theists group, Michael Faber.

All Things Rabyd – Open Theism contains some articles by Edward W. Raby about or referring to open theism.

The two blogs that I recommended in my original “Some Websites and Blogs on Open Theism” post aren’t active at this time.

Websites for Discussing Open Theism

I’m registered at these websites that host discussions of open theism:
Facebook – Open View Theists
Facebook – Open Theism, Moral Government Theology, Pentecostal
Open Theism Discussion Board

I joined Facebook so that I could participate in its Open View Theists group and I do so regularly. I recommend it to anyone who wishes to learn more about and/or to discuss open theism. Some of its members clash with each other over differences of opinion but so far they’ve been quite kind in their interactions with me.

After joining Facebook and the Open View Theists group, I found that Facebook hosts some other open theist groups. So far I’ve joined just one of them, the Open Theism, Moral Government Theology, Pentecostal group.

Before joining Facebook I used to occasionally visit and contribute to discussions at Open Theism Discussion Board, but I no longer do so.

I’d appreciate your telling me, either in a comment on this post or by e-mail, of other websites or blogs about or with significant material on open theism.

Next week I’ll post an update of the comments that I made on books opposing open theism in my initial “Some Books on Open Theism” post.

2 thoughts on “Some Websites and Blogs on Open Theism

  1. best nintendo wii games

    Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such fantastic info being shared freely out there.

    Reply

Leave a comment