The Trinity – Each Person Is Fully God – Part 2

Yesterday my family and I continued reading in our after-breakfast Bible reading time the section of Chapter 14, “God in Three Persons: The Trinity,” of Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology (Zondervan, 1994) which develops these statements about the Trinity: (1) God is three persons, (2) Each person is fully God, and (3) There is one God. We finished reading what Grudem said about (2) yesterday and I’ll share here from what we read.

God the Holy Spirit Is Fully God

In my October 26 post, “The Trinity – New Testament Evidence,” I quoted these passages in which all three persons of the Trinity–the Father, the Son, and the Spirit–are named together: Mark 1:10-11; Matthew 28:19; 1 Corinthians 12:4-6; 2 Corinthians 13:14; Ephesians 4:4-6; and 1 Peter 1:2. In my October 28 (yesterday) post I provided Biblical evidence that the Father and the Son are each fully God. If all three persons are named together and two of them are fully God, It would seem reasonable to assume that the third is also fully God.

Other Bible passages that speak of the Holy Spirit as fully God are:
– “Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence?” (Psalm 139:7, ESV; all Bible quotations are from the ESV) David identifies trying to escape from God’s Spirit with trying to escape from God.
– “But Peter said, ‘Ananias, why has Satan filled your heart to lie to the Holy Spirit…? You have not lied to men but to God?'” (Acts 5:3-4) Peter identifies lying to the Holy Spirit with lying to God.
– “Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?” (1 Corinthians 4:16) Peter identifies God’s dwelling in us with the Holy’s Spirit’s dwelling in us.

In my last two posts and this post I showed that (1) God is three persons and (2) Each person is fully God. This would suggest that there are three Gods. However that is not what the Bible teaches. Instead, as I’ll show in my next post, the Bible teaches that there is one God.

Leave a Reply

