The Clarity of the Bible – Part 4

Yesterday my family and I had an interesting discussion of the application questions which Wayne Grudem provides for Chapter 6, “The Four Characteristics of Scripture: (2) Clarity,” of his Systematic Theology in our after breakfast Bible reading time. However to tell you about our discussion, I’d have to give the questions that prompted it, which would violate the book’s copyright, and so I decided not to. As well, not being familiar with the hymn with which Grudem closes the chapter, “Jehovah’s Perfect Law,” I decided not to share it in our family family reading or here. Thus, not having our discussion or a hymn to report on, I decided not to make a post at Open Theism this morning.

However, after our discussion, my wife observed that the hymn with which Grudem closed Chapter 5, which we’d left out in our family reading, was based on the same Bible passage (Psalm 19:7-14) as the hymn with which he closed Chapter 6 and that she’d heard it sung when she was still in the Philippines. I asked her to sing it for us and she did. Neither hymn is in the Pentecostal hymnbook that we have, but I was able to locate both on the Internet. Here are the words of the one which my wife sang, “The Law of the Lord Is Perfect” (author – anonymous):

The law of the Lord is perfect,
Converting the soul.
The testimony of the Lord is sure,
Making wise the simple.

Refrain

The statutes of the Lord are right,
Rejoicing the heart.
The commandment of the Lord is pure,
Enlightening the eyes.

Refrain

The fear of the Lord is clean,
Enduring forever.
The judgments of the Lord are true,
And righteous altogether.

Refrain

Let the words of my mouth
And the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Thy sight, O Lord,
My strength and my redeemer.

Refrain

Moreover by them is Thy servant warned,
Is Thy servant warned:
And in keeping of them there is
Great reward.

Refrain

The refrain is:

More to be desired are they than gold,
Yea than much fine gold.
Sweeter also than honey
And the honeycomb.

4 thoughts on “The Clarity of the Bible – Part 4

  1. Allison

    Because I now live far from home, I enjoy reading about the daily progress of our family’s Bible Study. Singing is such a nice extra addition. I wish I could have been there to hear Leonora.

    Reply
    1. Bob Hunter Post author

      I always enjoy hearing Leonora sing, whether casually or formally. I’ll try to get her to sing in one of our Bible studies when Andy and you are here next summer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

